Berkeley parks

The Delta Record | Upshur County assistant wins service staff of the year award

CHARLESTON —On Tuesday, Sept. 13, Jessica Grose of Upshur County was named the West Virginia School Department’s 2023 Staff of the Year recipient. The announcement was made by the West Virginia Board of Education (WVBE) and the West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE) at the Celebration of Excellence in Education event held in Charleston.

The following information was obtained from a WVDE press release. He noted that WVBE President L. Paul Hardesty and West Virginia Schools Superintendent David L. Roach were joined by members of the State Board of Education for the occasion held at State Culture Center.

The statement also said Grose was serving as a special education aide at Hodgesville Elementary School. Grose is considered “an excellent team player who is committed to serving the children whenever she needs it. Over her 11 years of service, Grose has made lasting connections with students by making them feel important through her positive attitude and genuineness.

In addition to her support in her school building, Grose volunteers with the Upshur County FFA, Buckhannon-Upshur High School Football Team, choir, band, l Buckhannon #24 Girl’s International Order of the Rainbow Cheerleading Team.

“Ms. Grose has served students and her school community in many ways for over a decade,” Superintendent Roach said. idea of ​​supporting students and teachers. I am proud that she will represent the best of our school service personnel next year and I am truly grateful for her years of service inside and outside the classroom.

The West Virginia School Service Staff of the Year program recognizes outstanding educational support staff for their contributions to its schools and communities. The program honors individuals who have demonstrated exceptional skill and dedication in the performance of their work, which has earned them the respect and admiration of students, teachers, administrators, colleagues and parents.

As the 2023 winner, Grose will receive $2,500 each from the Horace Mann and Highmark West Virginia companies, $500 from the West Virginia School Service Personnel Association (WVSSPA), as well as a goblet and glass ornament, a stay of two nights at Twin Falls Resort State Park from West Virginia State Parks and a work of art from Blenko Glass Company. All finalists will receive a $25 Adams Hallmark gift card and all county winners will receive WVSSPA cups and a WVDE plaque and certificate.

Finalists for 2023 included Michelle Clark of Harrisville Elementary School in Ritchie County, Susan Clark of Warm Springs Middle School in Morgan County, Jeffrey Coleman of John Marshall High School in Marshall County, Marketa Crum of Mason County’s Beale Elementary School, Wendy Dodson of Jefferson County Central Schools Office, Mellissa Fuller of Wyoming County’s Huff Consolidated Elementary and Middle School, Glenna Johnston of Wyoming County Elementary School Peterson-Central of Lewis County, Kaare Mejias of Martinsburg North Middle School of Berkeley County and Hannah Rexrode of Mineral County of Mineral County Schools.

On Friday, September 16, Ms. Grose was also honored at Hodgesville Elementary School for this prestigious award. Congratulations Mrs. Grose and thank you for representing Upshur County so well!